60 of 60km Barefoot Across the Sahara

IMG_2311

After hiking from 9 in the morning to 7 at night, we finally arrived at our camp for the night. We had made it around the 20km lake formed by the rain, crossed the great Erg Chigaga, passed through Erg Latash, and had finally arrived at Erg Bougarn. Our camp was similar to the one we had stayed at the night before, many sleeping tents stood next to a large communal tent for eating, and another building with bathrooms. This time we were the only tourists at the camp, so it was us, Abraham, and two other nomads. As soon as we dropped off our bags, we had a quick rest on the bed (the most heavenly feeling after hiking for 10 hours), hit the salty showers, had dinner with Abraham, and then fell into a deep sleep.IMG_2312

IMG_2315
The next morning we set off for another long day of hiking. We had to walk from the camp in Erg Bougarn to a town called M’Hamid. Again, no one was clear about how long it would take us, 20km, 30km, morning to night, we really had no idea. We just knew it would be another long day! There was a bit of drama and stress that morning, but I’d rather tell that story in person… it’s one you’ll want to hear if you plan to go to Morocco or the Sahara in the fear future!IMG_2317 IMG_2321

Our second day of hiking was much different than the first. We were no longer crossing sand dunes, we hiked across huge hammadas, which are the rocky deserts in the pictures below. The rain had cleared and the sun was SO strong. I was happy because for a while I was worried that we went all the way to the Sahara and wouldn’t see or feel the sun. I was shocked at how strong it was, I couldn’t leave my skin exposed for even two minutes without starting to burn.IMG_2333IMG_2331IMG_2332IMG_2336IMG_2338IMG_2341IMG_2345

I loved the way the mud cracked and curled as the rivers and lakes that had formed from the rain dried up in the hot sun. It reminded me of chocolate shavings, and it made me crave chocolate after days of eating tagine!

IMG_2347

Arriving in M’Hamid to be picked up by our driver was the best feeling ever! Again we hiked from 9 in the morning to 7 at night, another 30 kilometres of treking through the desert. I really don’t know how I survived because trust me, walking that far in two days was something I never thought I could/would do! After the trouble we had that morning, our driver made it up to us by getting us a discounted price at a really beautiful hotel in Zagora. I’ve never been so happy to see a big, clean, and brand new bathroom WITHOUT salty water! It was strange how something so normal and regular in my everyday life was suddenly the biggest luxury I could ask for!

I have to give a shout out to this beautiful and grumpy camel, who carried me for a few hours when my legs got sore on the second day.. I’ll never forget how you destroyed my butt and back to the point where I couldn’t sit or walk properly for 3 days!

IMG_2324

3 thoughts on “60 of 60km Barefoot Across the Sahara

Leave me a comment!